Goals · Health Journey · Life · Uncategorized

Push: Start

When it comes to wanting to upgrade your life, your body, or your habits, it can be VERY overwhelming to know where to begin. Should I start with a gym membership? A kitchen overhaul? Jump into the newest, hottest diet trend? Attend yoga classes? Adopt a meditation routine? Start running every morning? Follow a bunch of people on social media and do as they do? Not that any of these are bad things to start with, but let’s be honest: no one in their right mind could do a complete 180 and change EVERYTHING they are doing (or not doing) overnight. This is real life, after all.

Okay, take a breath, we will get through this together. The biggest thing to remember is that age old saying: “Rome wasn’t built in a day”. A true transformation of habits occurs slowly, steadily, and one at a time. This makes for lasting success for the long haul, which is good for everyone involved.

But where to begin? That’s up to you, as we are all different. First, take out a sheet of paper and write down 5 things you believe you need to change in order to reach the goal you would like to one day accomplish. These things may seem as intimidating as climbing Mt. Everest for now, but bear with me. Look at those five items and pick one thing you want to start with. For example, let’s say you would like to begin drinking more water and less sugar filled drinks like soda or fancy coffees from Starbucks. It can be scary and overpowering to think that at the crack of dawn tomorrow morning you are no longer allowed to have those drinks. Instead, make a small goal for yourself, something easily attainable. When I began adding more water in, I did it slowly. Adding an extra 8oz to what I was drinking every day and increasing by another 8oz each week. This technique will naturally crowd out the drinks you desire to give up, but with much less stress and withdrawals. Currently, I’m up to a gallon or more of water a day. Eventually, you’ll see that the water truly quenches your thirst, and the beverages of your past no longer serve you the way they used to.

This technique works with the gym as well. Start off with looking at your schedule. What can you realistically commit to, without too much shuffling of your normal activities? We all have the same 24 hours in a day. There may be time here and there that you don’t even realize is open for a quick HIIT session or group fitness class. You do NOT have to do this every day, either! Again, start small. Waking up one morning and saying: “self, starting today we are going to go to the gym 7 days a week and that’s that” can be a recipe for failure. Talk about pressure!! Generally, when people jump head first into something new, they tend to beat themselves up over every little set back and can actually be easily convinced to give up and slide even further backwards from their goals. No Bueno.

But Ame, I am a single mom and I don’t think I can make it to the gym often enough for real results. That’s totally understandable. My daughter was 4 years old before I was able to sneak out of the house on a consistent basis to make it to the gym. This only works however if you have someone to babysit during that time, and that is usually the kink in the chain. Believe me, I get it. But that doesn’t mean you can’t find 20-30min a few times a week to do a quick sweat sesh in your living room. OR you can include the family in your workouts. Grab the kids, their bikes, and your running shoes and take it outside. A rousing game of tag on the playground counts if you work up a sweat! Even setting up a relay race or obstacle course in the backyard can have you fitting into your skinny jeans in no time. Not to mention how much cooler your kids will think you are!

What about something we all could use more of? I’m talking about the most underrated, underutilized, and most common thing people skimp on: SLEEP! I don’t think I’ve met anyone that said that they think they sleep too much. This is something I struggle with a lot.  I like to be Wonder Woman and Super Mom, but sometimes, I feel more like the Crypt Keeper by Friday afternoon and end up spending my weekend far less productively than I’d like to. On the regular, I average between 5-6+ hours a night of sleep. I’m not one to wake up multiple times, so I would mostly consider that a steady sleep. However, when on a long weekend at a friend’s cabin recently, I noticed that my body would easily sleep 8 hours uninterrupted. I would wake (without an alarm) at the same time every morning, feeling refreshed and full of energy. So what’s my plan? Getting to bed an extra 15-30min each night for a week or two, and slowly increasing that once I have a handle on the small change of routine. We all know we are more productive when we are rested, yet we don’t make time to ensure our bodies are getting the rest and recovery they desire.

So what’s the point of all of this? I believe it boils down to marking your goals higher up on your list of priorities than they are currently ranked – but doing it slowly. A little bit here and there; a minor tweak to your daily routine to make room for something you long to have. In some cases, this will require some sacrifice. In my case, I have sacrificed tv time, and happy hours. But for me, these were things I didn’t mind not participating in. What will it be for you?

If you’d like to connect and brainstorm some ways we can incorporate new things into your life, feel free to reach out to me! For now I will leave you with this thought to chew on: You define what is important to you by what you dedicate your time to. Heavy, huh?

Xoxo – Ame

Leave a Reply

